Baby Steps

Can’t believe it has already been two weeks since the last update. Recovery from surgery is going fine, it’s just a long road that seems like slow baby steps to my impatient mind most days.

Both drains are out and the incisions are healing well. It is a bit of a shock to look in the mirror after a shower, though, I must admit. This week, I was able to take a shower on my own and get dressed by myself again. My wardrobe is pretty limited, though. I’ve lost enough weight that most of my pants fall off me, and the only shirts I can manage must be button, zip, or snap up the front because my arms don’t have good range of motion yet.

I was also able to work some from home last week, thanks to my sister being here to help with cooking, my transportation to appointments and everything I can’t reach or lift. A number of people have asked “Why on earth are you working?” at various points in my treatment. My answer is that it is actually wonderful to have something to think about that isn’t cancer related. The people at Herrera are so passionate about their work that I’m continually inspired when I get to listen to everyone talking about their projects.

Last week, I had a Keytruda treatment and my first physical therapy appointment. I’ll now go to physical therapy once a week to work on arm recovery and how to avoid future lymphedema. This Monday, I have a consultation with my radiation oncologist. This will determine when we will start the five weeks of daily radiation to my right side lymph nodes. I am also dealing with back and leg pain, likely from tweaking something as I move gingerly and oddly after the surgery. It’s actually the most difficult issue for me right now.

Specific prayer requests:

(1) Back and leg pain will heal

(2) Arm function and range of motion will progress well

(3) Radiation side effects will be minimal.

Pictures today include my wonderful sister, my great-niece’s reaction to discovering moss on our walk today, and acquiring a Christmas tree last weekend with Megan, Luke, and Cliff. I am truly blessed when it comes to family support.

5 thoughts on “Baby Steps

  1. Carolyn Hinkle

    I love your positive attitude and your very specific prayer requests. I feel like I’m being more supportive when I am praying for specific needs. Live and good cheer from our family to yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vicki Schildmeyer

    So thankful Lynda could come and help you! Very grateful for your steady progress. Truly admire how determined you are! We pray for you every day and will continue. Love always, Vicki & Greg

    Liked by 1 person

  3. John T. Blatchford

    Oh, Carol.
    Think of you, Cliff, Luke, and Megan every day. Baby steps are giant steps. Patience with yourself is a good thing as this is a long healing journey. You really do have a super family and support system.
    Prayers daily for your healing.

    Love always…..
    John and Mun Hee

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anne-Marie Heckt

    Have been thinking of you a lot, Carol. Now I’ve caught up on reading, I know specifics to pray for. Sorry to hear about the pain in motion. So glad you’re getting out a bit with your sweeties. Have a lovely and blessed Christmas!

    Like

Leave a comment